Foinikounta

Foinikounta is a seaside village and a community in the municipal unit of Pylos-Nestor, Messenia, Greece. It is situated in the southwestern tip of the Peloponnese peninsula, 9 km east of Methoni and 37 km southwest of Kalamata. It is most notable for its beautiful beaches which attract mostly Greek and other European visitors during the summer months. It has a small port. The community consists of the main village Foinikounta, the small villages Anemomylos, Chounakia, Grizokampos and Loutsa, and the island Schiza.

It is believed to have been founded by the Phoenicians. The ancient town Phoenicus was mentioned by Pausanias as a port west of Cape Akritas. It is believed that it was a small commercial port where the fishers of murex trunculus (a sea snail from which a known indigo dye is produced) could trade their product and has vanished in our days. The name most likely refers to the sea snail that the Greeks called Phoenikus.

The present village was founded in the 1840s by inhabitants of Lachanada, that had fled from Crete and Arcadians from Crisovitsi. It was initially called Taverna, after a tavern in the village. It received its present name in 1930. The main resources of the inhabitants are agriculture and tourism, which has flourished since the 1980s. Each of the three long sandy beaches in Foinikounta has been rated a Blue Flag beach.

Kalamata

This illustrated travelogue depicts in a succinct but meaningful way the myths, history, monuments, beauty and contemporary life of one of the liveliest and most enchanting Greek cities.

A city which has become a symbol for its contribution to the Greek nation’s struggle for independence, a symbol of courage and determination but at the same time a symbol of culture and creativity.

I would like to thank, from the bottom of my heart, all those who have contributed to the realization of this rich publication which enables our visitor to become truly acquainted with the city we both love and cherish.

Kardamili

One of the south Mediterranean’s best-kept secrets Kardamili is a spectacularly beautiful seaside village located in the Mani, a stunning region in the southern Peloponnese, the coast of Greece defined by travel connoisseurs as the New Côte d’Azur.

Set dramatically against a backdrop of crystalline aqua-blue waters, majestic cypress trees, wild olive groves, verdant rolling hills and distant snowcapped mountains, it is one of the prettiest of villages that overlook the calm seas and splendid sunsets of the Messinian Gulf. 3 hours and 30 minutes’ drive from either the capital of Athens or the port of Patras, and just 35 km from the nearby city of Kalamata, it remains one of the south Mediterranean’s best-kept secrets: an exclusive, small, unspoilt resort that boasts stately villas, enchanting stone maisonettes, lush gardens, a picturesque harbour and fantastic beaches.

Something for everyone…

The village caters to many tastes. It is a favourite summer haunt of families and companions, but also of yachters and trend-setters who are into new and undiscovered European holiday destinations, as well as a cultural and social hub for foreigners from all corners of the globe who enjoy holiday homes in the Municipality of Lefktro.

This extended international community also includes renowned actors, artists, musicians, philosophers, scientists and writers. Visitors come for romantic week-end breaks, friendly get-togethers and memorable family/group vacations. Inspiring, unique and welcoming, Kardamili is both an ideal place for holidays and a special retreat for long relaxing spells.

Pylos

The Municipality of Pylos was formed by the King’s Act of April 9, 1835. It was officially referenced as a Municipality of the Methoni Province. Ranked in the C class with a population of 782 inhabitants, situated in Pylos (Neokastron – “New Castle”).

The city inhabitant was named Pylios. Pylos is a charming town in the southwestern part of Peloponnese. It was built in 1828 by the expeditionary corps of the General Maison.

In the center it has a square called Trion Navarhon (Three Admirals), having also a monument with the same name, that was completed in 1933. Left and right of it, there are two cannons; a Venetian and a Turkish one. In the Antonopouleio Museum of Pylos, on the road to Methoni, you can admire part of the collection of the French Rene Puaux as well as exhibits from the Ancient Mycenaean, Hellenistic and Roman Periods.

On the coastal road you can see the abandoned home of the Pylian Olympic Medal awarded, Kostis Tsiklitiras [Mansion Tsiklitiras], an athlete legend until now. Soon this impressive building will become the Library-Art Gallery of the Municipality of Pylos. Pylos is in excellent geographical location while its port is one of the largest and safest ports in the world, with a length of 4800m and 3600m width.

[The Port] The depth of the sea reaches 50m. To the west, in front of the port is the island of Sfaktiria. South of Sfaktiria is located the small island of Pylos also known as Tsichli-Baba or Fanari. There, in 1890 the French Republic built a monument for the French who were killed in the Battle of Navarino.

Between Tsichli-Baba and Sfaktiria are the Koutsoynes, the two rocks sharp reminiscent which are reminding [Memorial] the moment when Aris, in April 26, 1825 during the siege of Niokastro by Ibrahim, on the ship of Admiral Tsamadou, managed to escape in the night through this passage, after causing huge damage to the Turk-Egyptian fleet.

On the south side of Sfakteria, in 1959 was built a monument for the Greek who were killed in the battle of Sfaktiria which has over it the names of Tsamadou, Sahinis and Anagnostara.

[Memorial] Further in the north is the tomb of Paul Bonaparte, Napoleon’s nephew, who was killed in 1827 by the detonation of a weapon, on the warship Hellas. His corps was buried, eventually, in Sfaktiria in 1832 after having remained for five years in a barrel of rum. North, up the coast, is the monument of count Santarosa, a philellenist, who was killed in the battle of Sfaktiria on In April 26, 1825. The monument was built in 1926 by the Italian state.

Koroni

Koroni is a picturesque village, built on a hill right above the Messinian gulf.

On arriving, visitors have a magnificent view of the castle, which is above the houses as the sea lies at the bottom.

At the Venetian castle, visitors can see parts of it, from the 16th century or before. Coming down the steps of the castle, you can see the church of Panagia Eleistria and a panoramic view of the famous Zaga beach, a sandy beach in a 4 km area.